18-70 vs 16-85VR - Is VR really necessary at this length?

Discussion in 'Nikon' started by woolly|1, Jul 12, 2009.

1. I've been looking at 'upgrading' my 18-70 DX to a 16-85VR but apart from a slightly larger range the main point is all about the VR. I've already discarded the 18-200 from the formula due to the 11x range, with so much ground to cover the 18-200 isn't going to satisfy me in terms of distortion. I don't want to do all those corrections post shooting. I'm not a fan of plastic mounts so the 18-105mm is out too. I'm not an anti 18-200, if I was offered one free I would take it...

My question is whether VR is really required on such a short lens (85mm max). I have no more VR experience than the furthest corners of the local photo dealer, and then only the 18-200 ..... 16-85 is out of stock. So I've seen it working at 200mm and it is impressive but I don't often shoot that long.

My present body is D200. After much fretting have settled on getting the D300 (or the soon to be announced successor) and not the D700. All my dozen lenses are chosen to fit the DX focal range (they are mostly DX at the short end ) and moving to FX will leave a big gap at the short end.

I take anything from landscapes through macro, product and candid.
    I think it's a valid question, sometimes lenses have more features than necessary to help sell them..... I have a Sigma 8mm fisheye which makes me laugh when I hear the AF working ..... AF on a fisheye?????
    Any hands-on users please lend me your ears.
    Thanks

2. The blurring due to camera shake/motion increase as either or both the lens' focal length or the shutter speed selected increase (get longer). So VR in a normal zoom would allow you to shoot at slower shutter speeds without excessive blurring than what's otherwise possible. In practice, its a really nice feature to have.
    Also, I think the 16-85 is a better lens than the 18-70. The 18-70 has really questionable distortion patterns and vignetting at 18mm.