14-18 Group shot lighting

william_leach

Hello all- first post with a question on lighting a group of yoga/pilates teachers in a yoga studio.

The situtation:

I am a professional press photographer and have been asked by a yoga teacher friend to do a group portrait of all of

the teachers at her studio (14-18 will be there). I am kitted out for press photography and dont have any studio

lighting so will be renting equipment. I do have studio experience but not alot, so I'd like to let you all know what i'm

thinking and get some feedback before I go ahead and book equipment to rent.

First off all, as its a big group shot I'm aiming to shoot at about f.11- and I'm after a mid-key lighting. I will be

shooting this when it's dark outside so there will be no ambient light coming through the windows. I intend to use two

1200 watt Elinchrom flash heads triggered by pocket wizards...one camera left and one centre for fill.

QUESTION 1: Would that be enough power to light a group this big at f.11 hopefully no higher than ISO200 bearing in

mind i'm working with probably zero ambient light.

I'm also intending to use 1m softboxes on each. QUESTION 2: seem sensible?

Now I come onto my main concern- the room I'm shooting in is fairly large, probably the size of a tennis court..here's

a link with a picture of the space http://www.suryayoga.co.uk/studio_hire.html.

I'm at a bit of a loss with what to do with the background. I'd either like it to be brightly lit or if thats too tricky perhaps

make the shot quite low key..dark background perhaps with a light in the back to pick up their outline to add a bit of

drama. Any ideas?

I'll be shooting with Canon 5D

so far renting;

2X 1200watt flash heads

2X 1m soft boxes

3 pocket wizards

sound about right?

many thanks

Will