135mm Lens - Nikon W or Rodenstock APO Sironar S?

brian_ellis3

I'm having a difficult time deciding between these two lenses. The

big advantage of the Nikon is that I can buy it used in excellent

condition for about $350 and a new Rodenstock is close to twice that.

I don't mind paying the money if I'm likely to really see a

difference in my photographs but I have no experience with either

lens or with either brand for that matter (except that I have a 300M

Nikon lens but that's an M and this is a W). I know Kerry Thalman

raved about the Rodenstock APO Sironar S line in his View Camera

article and was luke warm to say the least towards the Nikon W line

in his current article. OTOH, most people seem to agree that there is

virtually no difference in quality of current lenses among the big

four manufacturers and that's pretty much been my experience with the

three Schneiders and one Nikon I now own.

I don't expect anyone to tell me what to do but I'd welcome any

thoughts (except thoughts that I should get a different focal length

or a different brand - I've decided to get this focal length and it

will be one of these two brands).

Brian the Apo Sironar series reaaly has no equivelent in the Nikon line. I believe that a more accurate statement in comparing the 'big 4' is that they are all more than acceptable not that there is no difference unless yhou are doing a total 1:1 such as the Nikkor W to the Apo Siroar N or Apo Symmar.