OK, I am a bit lost, so I thought I would ask for help.

I have been shooting a 10D in RAW mode for two years. I currently

use Capture One V1.2 with Photoshop Elements.

I would like to upgrade software, but I find the options a bit

confusing. Note that COST is a factor. The ability to process 100

photos in a single sitting is important to me. The ability to

process RAW photos from a Canon S40 in addition to my 10D is

important. . .but I realize that this won't happen.

My takeaways so far:

1) Photoshop CS: (a) Expensive. (b) Irksome activation policies ©

Not suited to mass production?

2) Capture One V3.7 (a) Pro version a blatant ripoff -> but does the

LE version even support a 10D?? (b) From what I read. . .this

program seems buggy. . with frequent and expensive upgrades?

3) DPP (a) Free (which is good), but (b) still not ready for prime

time? © Slow for bulk image editing?

It almost seems that upgrading is not worth the effort. Am I off

base here?

I would say you are off base.

1) Photoshop at retail costs less than a decent computer with large monitor. Photoshop is cheap compared to many professional creative computer applications (Clearcase, Visual Studio, Oracle, ...). While Photoshop is not cheap, the set of tools you get far exceeds that of any competing product. Some RAW converters (i.e., Capture One, ...) may be better at what they do, but they do not do nearly as much (pre-press, web, and photo editing).

2) Photoshop upgrades cost little more than the lesser tools on the market.

3) You will barely even notice the activation step and this is only likely to be irksome if you are stealing the software.

4) Photoshop CS2 has a new RAW converter much better suited to mass production. Add in the batch and macro facilities built into Photoshop and you have an excellent tool that is currently widely used in mass production.

But in the end, is upgrading worth it? That depends on what you need.

some thoughts,

Sean