1-D Mark II & wide angle vignetting

jimmy_rhyne

I am new to the Canon crowd and have a question about vignetting I am noticing.

When I use a Sigma 18-50mm DC f/2.8 or the Canon 17-40mm f/4 I see vignetting

on the monitor. Is this normal for a 1-D Mark II and wide angle lens? I know

it sounds stupid but this was never a problem with my Nikon bodies and the same

basic lens length.

I tried no filter and no hood and low-profile filter and hood and still see slight traces. Just a little annoying. What about the Canon 17-35mm f/2.8? Have a friend who swears no vignetting but if I see it with a 17-40mm seems I would still see it with 17-35mm. Just pondering out loud. Other than this small problem I like the system so far. No really sure it is head and shoulders better than the Nikon but after 15 years it was time for a change. Thanks for the input.

There should not be a problem with the 17-40 on a 1D2. I use mine regularly and have no problems with vignetting.

I recently bought a Sigma 14/2.8 and that one doesn�t even vignet on my 1D2. In fact I am quite surprised by the quality. Of course there is some distortion in the edges. But that is normal with this focal length.

<p>FWIW, photozone.de has tested a whole bunch of lenses on a 350D (1.6-crop) and found that many full-frame lenses show very slight vignetting even on that small sensor. And I do mean very slight; a few tenths of a stop, enough to measure, but not enough to make a practical difference to most photos. It wouldn't be entire surprising to have somewhat more vignetting on a 1.3-crop body. For the 17-40, they found up to half a stop with the lens wide open (of course, it varied by focal length) on a 1.6-crop body.</p>